mercoledì 27 giugno 2007
Gig troubles
So, Eggo walks up to me about a week and a half ago and offers me a gig. Naturally, I take the offer; he always gets me good gigs. So, I call the guy he tells me to call, and it begins. We play phone tag for a while, and he tells me about it; a gig at the Kentucky Center for the Arts, some organization's annual luncheon and press conference. We're gonna play some background music. So, I round up the usual gang, me, Michael, Jordan, and this time I got ZAch to play drums. So Jordan immediately says that he can't do it, because his parents won't let him out of school. I say ok, and I call Marc, and he is really enthusiastic about it. I also talk to his parents about it, seeing as we all have to get out of school early for it. His parents say yes, and everything is good. Well this past saturday, I talk to marc again, and his principal wont let him out for the gig, which sucks ass. So I start asking around, and no one can do it. I call the coordinator about it, and he gets pretty nervous, so that puts more pressure on me to find a player. I talk to Robert Dixon, my last hope, and then I go and convince his mom to let him miss school. So I am now saved, I just hope that he doesn't cancel on me. "Isn't it great being in charge?" -Curtis Essig
venerdì 22 giugno 2007
Some sense is made out of the jokes...
a quote from a good friend...."Pat Jokes: John can't help that he has money. So that makes the John is rich jokes invalid. Sure, make fun of how John uses his money, but just the fact that he is rich is bunk. There are people far richer than him at Manual. However, this is where we hit the validity of the Pat is stupid jokes. John is rich because of his dad. Pat is stupid because he's lazy, and he openly admits to being lazy. He is lazy in his school work. He gets in trouble over his grades. Pat just doesn't care. Pat isn't as educated as John or Evan, so political satire in conversations is out of the question. Pat focuses his energy on Tae Kwon Doe and saxophone, his two main passions. Pat is very stupid academically, and I'm sure he agrees with me. But where John is my white collar friends and Evan is my centrist friend, Pat balances it all out with being the blue collar friend, the working guy. The DQ guy. All this doesn't change the fact that Pat isn't super fact on the uptake or gets all of my historical jokes. Oh and Pat, President Bush doesn't have a reconstruction plan for the South, the South was reconstructed after the Civil War ended in 1864. Lincoln started reconstrution. The south has been part of the Union for 140 years now. Being academically challenged doesn't make Pat any lesser of a person or friend, though.The basis of the Pat jokes are Pat's intelligence; Pat is stupid when it comes to general knowledge. But Pat jokes do not indicate Pat's worth in our lives. He's not the guy we all joke on to us. Pat jokes just happen, it's not like anyone is in the mindset to say "oh, hey, lets fuck Pat over!" Yet when he is your only blue collar friend, the white collar friends will pick on his blue collarness, which in his case is his intellect. We all know Pat is not a philosopher or historian or a mathematician. Pat jokes reflect stupidity, and I think down inside, we all see Pat's stupidity as part of ourselves. We're all stupid and I think most of us have the same amount of intelligence, just in different areas; I believe in Gardner's theory of multiple intelligences. Pat has very, very high musical intelligence, but poor logical and spatial intelligence. I have high existential intelligence and emotional intelligence, but quite poor spatial intelligence (aka I suck at math. Really bad).What people don't understand is that we all joke on each other. Evan and I joke on each other's views of Ford/Chevy. I joke with John about his money and Miki. John jokes on me about my Corvette. Pat jokes on me about....well I don't remember but it's funny most of the time. Contrary to popular belief, Pat does have funny jokes. But he is more logical in his joke formations and therefore takes longer. I assure you, Pat has funny jokes, but they're usually prescripted. Pat is also scared to say his jokes because they're cruel, but that's stupid. We're all cruel to each other in a way, but we're all friends. We all know they're just jokes. Pat jokes get publicized so much because #1. they're really funny #2. Pat overreacts to them #3. Pat can't say anything back. My theory is that if Pat takes Pat jokes in stride, they will die down to the level all the other jokes are held at. Also, if Pat threw some really, really fucking funny jokes (no matter how mean), that would boost his image."Yes Geoff Tankersley, you are a good man. And, in this case, you are absolutely right. I wish I could see all this from your perspective; that would help out a lot. And that's all I have to say to that.The Patriots won YEAH DUDE! that was an awesome game....and I was at DQ working when I watched it, because my manager took down our old shitty tv so we could watch it. Yeah that place really takes care of me.Well kids, this does it for me tonight...I'm outta here. Peace
lunedì 18 giugno 2007
A new realization
Well, I've come to a realization today, and it took a damn long time to get there. I just dont' care about anything right now. I could be joked on viciously by anyone, and it wouldn't affect me. It was really hard to do that for the longest time, but today was different. At the recording session, I was talking to john (yeah that's weird for me right now, but whatever) and he was throwing jokes like he always does, and I was throwing mine back at him. He threw a really good one, and I just didn't care. I laughed. On the way home, I didn't care about a damn thing, and I liek that feeling. So, now I know it's very possible to bnot care about jokes on me and wahtever I have said/done, or my possesions. So, tonight, I just dont' give a fuck if you want to joke on me, whomever might give it a try. And, maybe they'll stop, but I don't care. I honestly don't care. Well, I'm outta here. Peace
venerdì 15 giugno 2007
Resistence is Futile
I can't believe some people. I just can't. People that would create a journal for the sole purpose of making fun of you. Making a book and using chapter titles to make fun of you. Making fun of SOMETHING YOU CAN'T EVEN FUCKING HELP, namely, stuttering. I mean, what kind of pleasure do they get from this? Me being pissed off? I guess, because the jokes keep coming and coming. And there's nothing I can do about it. Nothing I can say, nothing I can do, to my knowledge that will stop them. They tell me to joke on them, but I don't know any witty jokes, or good comebacks to anything. Plus, the comebacks that I give are only made fun of themselves, so I got nothing. And, I'm willing to bet that all the comments that will me left on this entry will be ones joking on me. I can see it now. John will tell me to go smoke about it and then make fun of my stuttering. Geoff will tell me to cry about it, and I don't know what evan will say, if anything. That's not counting the other people that might leave a comment joking on me, or these people joking on me in their personal journal. So, you all don't have to waste your energy, I already know what you're going to say, but if you must, go ahead and say it. That's your right to do so. Well, I'm outta here. Peace.
mercoledì 13 giugno 2007
Damn AIM
So I'm trying to sign on to my usual name, and it says that "rate limiting occured during sign on. PLease try again later" so I had to use an alternate name. so now I have about 5 of my 38 buddies on this name, so I can talk to practically no one. But whatever. guess that's about it. UofL won GO CARDS! And that was about the highlight of my day. I'm gone. Peace.
Iscriviti a:
Commenti (Atom)