lunedì 10 settembre 2007
yeah dude
damn, I haven't written in this thing in a long time.Well, I have a new girlfriend. her name's carrie williams, and I haven't been this happy with a girl (or in general) in a long damn time. We have a LOT in common; music, sense of humor, the way we flirt, very similar views on a lot of things. Oh and by the way, she works at deja-vu. Not for long though, she's going to get a job that pays better, but we met while she was working at deja-vu.My good friend chris was with me when I asked this girl for her number. She had given me a lap dance, and I left my hat in the little place you go to, so I had to go back and get it, then chrish basically pushed me back up there, because I was saying how I could see myself dating someone like her. So I talked to her for a little bit, then she said to come back the next time she worked, and I did. She recognized me, and INSTEAD of going around to get dances, and sat at my table and talked with me and chris for an hour and a half, until we left. We met at rally's down the street, because she went on her break as we left so we could talk more. then I got her number, and called her a few days later. We went out on a couple of dates, and about a week and a half later, she was my girlfriend. Wow, I can't believe how lucky I am to be with someone like her. Bout damn time I get a girlfriend that I have things in common with, instead of NOTHING in common with. And that's that. Oh and for all you people who think going out with a stripper is a bad thing, "I bid you a hearty FUCK YOU!" -Rachel Potash In other news, I'm going to morehead tonight for orientation tomorrow; I'll get my classes and such. I already know who I'm rooming with; one of the guys happens to be Marc Najjar, so that's fucking awesome. I know one of the other ones from audition day, so that's cool, and I have no idea who the other guy is.So yeah, that's about all that's going on in my life right now. Sorry I haven't written in this thing in a while; just haven't felt like it. So until next time, TAKE IT EASY! YEAH DUDE!
domenica 26 agosto 2007
Bout damn time I updated this thing huh...
This is to my good friend chad... I am through being mediator. I've done nothing but cause problems and hurt you, which I never meant to do. tonight, you and me settled things, and if you ever want advice, I'll always be willing to give it to you, but now it's up to you two to talk to eachother, or do whatever you two feel you need to do. I will still uphold my promise that I made to you tonight, but I won't "mediate" for you two anymore. your sister was right, chad, I don't want to leave high school on bad terms with anyone; and besides, you're too good of a friend to me for me to fuck it all up over one stupid person...And then to everyone else...I was suprised about tonight's jazz band concert, it went better than expected. my combo sucked, and I broke one of the cardinal rules about performing on stage, DON'T SHOW ANYONE IN THE AUDIENCE YOUR DISAPPROVAL OF ANYTHING! I got pissed off after we stopped playing, damn it was such a mess. It went ok for most of it, but the ending sucked complete and utter ass, but I shouldn't have showed off my anger. Everything else was a lot better than expected, so my last high school jazz band concert was pretty good. Damn, I'm gonna miss that band...
sabato 25 agosto 2007
Questions
" I want everyone who reads this to ask me 3 questions, no more no less.Ask me anything you want. Really. I'll answer anything.Then I want you to go to your journal, copy and paste this allowing your friends (including myself) to ask you anything."
martedì 21 agosto 2007
another great saturday night.
So, on saturday night, Me, Alina, Ryan, Heather, and Greg went out. We went to Max and Erma's to eat dinner, which was fun. Then we went to the Fifth Quarter to see Freddy play. I took my soprano sax so I could play a couple tunes with him. Freddy got there about 20 minutes after we did. He came up and talked to us for a little bit, then he went to play. He started with "Imagine", and while he played it, Alina and I, and Ryan and Heather got up and danced. It was so nice, I didn't want it to end. But it did, and after he got done with that song, he played an up-beat tune, so we sat down. A few songs later, I got up with him and played Take the "A" Train for Ryan and Heather, and then I played "Lady in Red" for Alina. After that, we had to leave, damn curfew. But, it was another great saturday night, I can't wait to have more like it.
lunedì 20 agosto 2007
every once in a while, even the most simple person will say something profound...
DougP1986: i'm tired of being rightDaveT19: don't ever be tired of being right. you know what you're talking about, and it shows. if someone doesn't believe you're right, let them prove you wrong. but in john's case, he hasn't done that yet. you've been right on almost everything you've said to him about this. no, dont' be tired of being rightDougP1986: that hit my heart, patDougP1986: honestlyDaveT19: every once in a while, even the most imple person will say something profoundDaveT19: *simpleDougP1986: i imed him this. he hasn't responded:DougP1986: DougP1986: you have a lot of balls to tell farmers, amish people, and people in general that their simple lives are wasted. buddha led an extremely simple life and he became enlightened, something both of us will never become. your philosophy is mine, the will to power, but people can become something while living a simple lifeDaveT19: he needs to realize that anyone can be happy, no matter how simple their lives areDaveT19: if they're happy, what the fuck else matters? I think they've done their duty if they're happy; shit, even a homeless guy can be happy, despite popular befliefDaveT19: geof, you're a profound person, you really are. sure, you can be dick sometimes, but who's not? that's human nature. you know you're right, and you're not afraid to say it. I have a lot of respect for you for being able to do that...plus a little envyDaveT19: *geoffDougP1986: hahaha, thanks man. that really means a lot.DougP1986: i wish i could hold back being pissed off like you doDaveT19: heh well I get a lot of practice on that partDougP1986: hahahaDaveT19: but no matter how pissed off I get at you, I can't begin to thank you for all tyhe times you've been there to talk to me about anything, or to go to waterfront park, or the skate park; I'm really gonna miss thatDougP1986: me tooSure he pisses me off sometimes. But he's a good friend to me, and I try to be a good friend to him...DaveT19: he wants her back I know itDougP1986: yep!DaveT19: and he won't stop until he gets her backDaveT19: but putting himself, and her through hellDaveT19: *byDaveT19: I know his plan, it's been the same thing for the past two years. GET MIKI BACK! and he doesn't stray form that. he said this exact thing last time they broke up and what happened? they went back out and he got hurt again. even I know when to quit on things like this. I don't waste my time being hurt, not anymore. I did that for 7months, and that was plenty for me. he needs to realize what he's doing, and I don't think he's done that yet. he needs TIME, and nothing else but that. time away from her, from the thought of her. he needs to experience life WITHOUT HER, and he doesn't know how to do that. there's nothing wrong with that, but he needs to try, and realize that we're trying to help him, but if he doesn't want our help, fuck him. he can deal with it his own childish wayDougP1986: paraphrased: don't cryDaveT19: hahah yeah basicallyDougP1986: it's sickening, patDaveT19: I know geoffDaveT19: she's put john through hell, and she'll get hers one day, I hope it's just as bad as what she did to johnDaveT19: aka KARMA'S A BITCHYou know, I'm not right very often, but this time, I know I'm right. I want to help john with this, but he obviously doesn't want it. He has this path he wants to go down. Well, he's going to get hurt if he goes down that path, and I think he'll regret it later on down the road. I hope he takes our hope, we have the best of intentions for him...
domenica 12 agosto 2007
More College shit
Well, I've finally made a decision on where I'm going to college. Next fall I will be attending Morehead State University, not the Uiversity of Tennessee. UT decided to put me on a waiting list of about 10,000 students, saying that they would get back to me by July 1st, 2004. What a load of crap, but whatever they want, I guess. They also gave me only $4000 in scholarship. Which is flattering, don't get me wrong, but it's not nearly enough.Morehead, on the other hand, gave me $2000, which goes very far because of their low cost for tuition. And I have been accepted to that school, so the decision was quite easy. So there you have it folks, I'm going to Morehead State University. And besides, I know the saxophone professor a lot better than UT; I've played for Gene Norden for the past 4 years, so that makes me happy. Also, Ryan and Marc will be going there with me, so that's another plus. Well, I'm off to do some music theory and talk to people. Later.
lunedì 9 luglio 2007
What a weekend
So, I met this girl a few months ago, but we never really saw or talked to eachother. Her mom goes to tae kwon do with me, so I saw her occasionally. So on friday night, we went to gattiland with a bunch of people from the club, and we end up hanging out that night; we drove around her neighborhood for about an hour and a half. The next day, I go over there and we hang out for 2 hours, flirting heavily and stuff like that... the next night I ask her out and she says YES. So now I have a girlfriend. She's a junior at ballard named Alina Corillo; she's so awesome, and now I have a prom date, so yeah a good day.So later that night she asked me if I smoked. I decided long before I wasn't going to lie about that anymore, so I told her I did. She got kind of upset, and a little later I left. And, on the way home, it finally hit me. So, in exactly one month, on April 22nd, I will be completely smoke free. That's right I'M QUITTING SMOKING!!! Therefore, any jokes (I would expect to anyway) will stop after that. So yeah what a weekend...
giovedì 5 luglio 2007
College Confusion
I received a latter form Morehead today. They want to give me a $2000 scholarship to attend their school SHITS YEAH! The only problem with that is, I haven't heard back from UT about scholarships. I received my acceptance letter to the music school, but the dealine for accepting scholarships for Morehead is on Friday, March 26, just under two weeks from now. SO, I'm very confused about what to do. I really want to go to UT, but if they don't send me a scholarship within the next 10 days or so, I can't go there. Their tuition, and room and board come up to about $18,000 per year, whereas Morehead is about half of that, at the most, so Im' sure you see my dilema. But, I'm still holding out for UT, it's just...time's running out.
lunedì 2 luglio 2007
Go Volunteers!
So yeah, I get a letter from UT yesterday, saying I've been accepted into the music school in music education and jazz SHITS YEAH! So, now I'm awaiting acceptance into the school itself, and hopefully a shitload of scholarship money. If everything works out as planned, this time next year I'll be at UT...
College
Well, I read some of my email today, and one of my new messages was from Professor Haar down at UT. He said that I was one of his top priorities for scholarship. I was like, HAELS YES! Now I just gotta send my transcripts down there and to my other college choices, UofL and Morehead. I ALSO got a call today from Jon Moore, professor of saxophone at UofL. He said I was near the top of HIS list for scholarship, which means a lot, but I really down't want to go there. Now, I'm just waiting for a call from Morehead. You know, today made me think a lot about college. It's really fucking close, closer than I imagined. That means leaving all of my dear friends I made in high school. I guess it's really starting to hit me that we graduate in just over 2 months. Wow that was fast. In, just over two months I'll have to leave a lot behind. All my friends I've made; Geoff, Evan, Rachel, Mr. Essig, and a lot of other people, but I would have to say that the are the best friends I've made since I have been at Manual and YPAS. (heh, that's another thing high school has taught me; who my real friends are.) It's taken a while to actually realize that I'm less than 3 months away from graduating, but I guess it took the stuff from UT and UofL to really put into perspective. Those are two possibilities of where I'll be going to school. UofL is at the bottom of my list, so that leaves Morehead and UT, 2 and 4 hours away from home, which is what I want. I want to have a fresh start, a clean slate, a chance to start over again. It's what I want, and yet, it will be one of the most difficult things I've ever had to do. It'll be kinda like senior night at marching band, only worse. If you don't know what that means, don't worry about it. Only marching band members would know...
mercoledì 27 giugno 2007
Gig troubles
So, Eggo walks up to me about a week and a half ago and offers me a gig. Naturally, I take the offer; he always gets me good gigs. So, I call the guy he tells me to call, and it begins. We play phone tag for a while, and he tells me about it; a gig at the Kentucky Center for the Arts, some organization's annual luncheon and press conference. We're gonna play some background music. So, I round up the usual gang, me, Michael, Jordan, and this time I got ZAch to play drums. So Jordan immediately says that he can't do it, because his parents won't let him out of school. I say ok, and I call Marc, and he is really enthusiastic about it. I also talk to his parents about it, seeing as we all have to get out of school early for it. His parents say yes, and everything is good. Well this past saturday, I talk to marc again, and his principal wont let him out for the gig, which sucks ass. So I start asking around, and no one can do it. I call the coordinator about it, and he gets pretty nervous, so that puts more pressure on me to find a player. I talk to Robert Dixon, my last hope, and then I go and convince his mom to let him miss school. So I am now saved, I just hope that he doesn't cancel on me. "Isn't it great being in charge?" -Curtis Essig
venerdì 22 giugno 2007
Some sense is made out of the jokes...
a quote from a good friend...."Pat Jokes: John can't help that he has money. So that makes the John is rich jokes invalid. Sure, make fun of how John uses his money, but just the fact that he is rich is bunk. There are people far richer than him at Manual. However, this is where we hit the validity of the Pat is stupid jokes. John is rich because of his dad. Pat is stupid because he's lazy, and he openly admits to being lazy. He is lazy in his school work. He gets in trouble over his grades. Pat just doesn't care. Pat isn't as educated as John or Evan, so political satire in conversations is out of the question. Pat focuses his energy on Tae Kwon Doe and saxophone, his two main passions. Pat is very stupid academically, and I'm sure he agrees with me. But where John is my white collar friends and Evan is my centrist friend, Pat balances it all out with being the blue collar friend, the working guy. The DQ guy. All this doesn't change the fact that Pat isn't super fact on the uptake or gets all of my historical jokes. Oh and Pat, President Bush doesn't have a reconstruction plan for the South, the South was reconstructed after the Civil War ended in 1864. Lincoln started reconstrution. The south has been part of the Union for 140 years now. Being academically challenged doesn't make Pat any lesser of a person or friend, though.The basis of the Pat jokes are Pat's intelligence; Pat is stupid when it comes to general knowledge. But Pat jokes do not indicate Pat's worth in our lives. He's not the guy we all joke on to us. Pat jokes just happen, it's not like anyone is in the mindset to say "oh, hey, lets fuck Pat over!" Yet when he is your only blue collar friend, the white collar friends will pick on his blue collarness, which in his case is his intellect. We all know Pat is not a philosopher or historian or a mathematician. Pat jokes reflect stupidity, and I think down inside, we all see Pat's stupidity as part of ourselves. We're all stupid and I think most of us have the same amount of intelligence, just in different areas; I believe in Gardner's theory of multiple intelligences. Pat has very, very high musical intelligence, but poor logical and spatial intelligence. I have high existential intelligence and emotional intelligence, but quite poor spatial intelligence (aka I suck at math. Really bad).What people don't understand is that we all joke on each other. Evan and I joke on each other's views of Ford/Chevy. I joke with John about his money and Miki. John jokes on me about my Corvette. Pat jokes on me about....well I don't remember but it's funny most of the time. Contrary to popular belief, Pat does have funny jokes. But he is more logical in his joke formations and therefore takes longer. I assure you, Pat has funny jokes, but they're usually prescripted. Pat is also scared to say his jokes because they're cruel, but that's stupid. We're all cruel to each other in a way, but we're all friends. We all know they're just jokes. Pat jokes get publicized so much because #1. they're really funny #2. Pat overreacts to them #3. Pat can't say anything back. My theory is that if Pat takes Pat jokes in stride, they will die down to the level all the other jokes are held at. Also, if Pat threw some really, really fucking funny jokes (no matter how mean), that would boost his image."Yes Geoff Tankersley, you are a good man. And, in this case, you are absolutely right. I wish I could see all this from your perspective; that would help out a lot. And that's all I have to say to that.The Patriots won YEAH DUDE! that was an awesome game....and I was at DQ working when I watched it, because my manager took down our old shitty tv so we could watch it. Yeah that place really takes care of me.Well kids, this does it for me tonight...I'm outta here. Peace
lunedì 18 giugno 2007
A new realization
Well, I've come to a realization today, and it took a damn long time to get there. I just dont' care about anything right now. I could be joked on viciously by anyone, and it wouldn't affect me. It was really hard to do that for the longest time, but today was different. At the recording session, I was talking to john (yeah that's weird for me right now, but whatever) and he was throwing jokes like he always does, and I was throwing mine back at him. He threw a really good one, and I just didn't care. I laughed. On the way home, I didn't care about a damn thing, and I liek that feeling. So, now I know it's very possible to bnot care about jokes on me and wahtever I have said/done, or my possesions. So, tonight, I just dont' give a fuck if you want to joke on me, whomever might give it a try. And, maybe they'll stop, but I don't care. I honestly don't care. Well, I'm outta here. Peace
venerdì 15 giugno 2007
Resistence is Futile
I can't believe some people. I just can't. People that would create a journal for the sole purpose of making fun of you. Making a book and using chapter titles to make fun of you. Making fun of SOMETHING YOU CAN'T EVEN FUCKING HELP, namely, stuttering. I mean, what kind of pleasure do they get from this? Me being pissed off? I guess, because the jokes keep coming and coming. And there's nothing I can do about it. Nothing I can say, nothing I can do, to my knowledge that will stop them. They tell me to joke on them, but I don't know any witty jokes, or good comebacks to anything. Plus, the comebacks that I give are only made fun of themselves, so I got nothing. And, I'm willing to bet that all the comments that will me left on this entry will be ones joking on me. I can see it now. John will tell me to go smoke about it and then make fun of my stuttering. Geoff will tell me to cry about it, and I don't know what evan will say, if anything. That's not counting the other people that might leave a comment joking on me, or these people joking on me in their personal journal. So, you all don't have to waste your energy, I already know what you're going to say, but if you must, go ahead and say it. That's your right to do so. Well, I'm outta here. Peace.
mercoledì 13 giugno 2007
Damn AIM
So I'm trying to sign on to my usual name, and it says that "rate limiting occured during sign on. PLease try again later" so I had to use an alternate name. so now I have about 5 of my 38 buddies on this name, so I can talk to practically no one. But whatever. guess that's about it. UofL won GO CARDS! And that was about the highlight of my day. I'm gone. Peace.
venerdì 4 maggio 2007
wow this was random
So I get a call from some random girl tonight. She tells me her name, which is courtney, and then tells me hoe she got my number. APPARENTLY someone put my name and cell phone number on the side of the half-pipe at the skate park downtown. So I call geoff and ask him about it, and he says he didn't do it, so I have no idea who did, but whatever.And to john...you are a fucking asshole. why in the hell would you make a reference to my studdering, what was the point in that? I mean, ok if you want to joke on my smoking, that's one thing, but something I can't even help? come on that was pretty low, but if you want to be a 2 year old, that's certainly your choice. And even if it was a quote, what was the point in doing that (if it was one word, could have been a typo, but 3) but that's all I'm going to say about that...So anyway, this is my journal. I can't believe I opened up one of these things, but what the hell, why not. well I'm outta here, peace.
Iscriviti a:
Commenti (Atom)